Writing by Candlelight

Dorothy's Blog

Use the New Dishes

victirian-tea.png Last week I was looking in my cupboard at all of my beautiful dishes and it hit me. ..In all the years I’ve had those dishes,  I bet I’ve only used them 3 or 4 times. How sad. My husband who urged me to buy them has passed away, and all of my children no longer live at home.  And the dishes still sit there waiting to be used.

Why do we do this? Save things for some unknown special day.

I say , “Use the good dishes.” Enjoy them. Don’t wait to pass them on to someone after you are gone. Use them until they are all used up.  And if you are not going to use them, give them to someone who will.

And so it is with other things in our lives that we are waiting to do when the time is right.

“Oh we’ll get married when we save enough money.”

“We’ll have kids when we are ready for them…not now.”

“We’ll buy that new house when things are perfect.”

Guess what?

You will never have enough money.                                                                                                                               You will never be ready.                                                                                                                                                      And things will never be perfect.

Just do it! Use the good dishes!

9 Comments

  1. That is so true.. I got sick of using mismatched dishes when I was younger.. so when I started work, I bought Mum 2 sets of willow patterned china.. She put it straight in the cupboard not to be used except for special occasions.. After she died, I took it out and wondered why? I don’t think it was used more than 5 times.. and usually at my insistence.. Life’s too short to eat off mismatched crockery.. :)

    • That is so true Livonne. From now on I’m using the good ones. Thanks for your comment.

  2. Susan Hitchcock

    Oh, DOTTEE, I COULD NOT agree with you more! I’ve always had this mindset about my dishes! My LITTLE ones were eating on our china! :-) WHY have them if you don’t enjoy them! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!! As for having children, well, we always wanted a large family, and I read a GREAT quotes once, “If God gives the MOUTHS, He’ll ALWAYS provide the food.” With my husband being unemployed for the first time in our marriage [23 years], this quote means more than ever, and you know what, HE ALWAYS PROVIDES!!!! Love you, friend!

    • Hi Susan I’m so glad you use the good dishes. I am going to try to do that from now on. We have 8 kids too and God has always provided for us too. Thank you for reading my blog and replying. You are so sweet! Hugs!

  3. I love using my antique bowls. Someone asked me once about if one were to break. Using them brings me joy. If they break it will be okay. We need to get the most out of the things that have value to us.

    Love big with no reservations.

    • Hi Crystle,
      I have some beautiful bowls that I use a lot, I almost forgot about those. But I have 2 sets of beautiful dishes that I hardly ever use. So
      I’ll have to make a point to use from now on. Thanks for reading my blog and commenting on it. Love and Hugs!

    • Susan Hitchcock

      Crystle, I LOVE that–LOVE big with NO reservations!

  4. Hi Dorothy
    I enjoy reading your blog posts. I can see you have put the snow on your blog too, it’s looking good. Just to let you know I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award on my beatredundancyblues blog, the link is http://beatredundancyblues.wordpress.com/2012/12/11/beatredundancyblues-won-the-very-inspiring-blogger-award

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 389 other followers

