Writing by Candlelight

Dorothy's Blog

Hello world!

   This is my first blog entry here. After a few months of thinking about whether to start one or not, I finally decided to take the plunge and just do it.

BTW I looked up the word “blog” in the dictionary…NOT included. I looked it up in my word program for a synonym…it means “to blog” How’s that for a definition?

I LOVE to write!

I love to play around with words to get my sentences to sound just right.

When deeply involved in a story, hours can slip by as though they were merely minutes. I’ve skipped lunch, stayed up until 3 AM and even all night once when working on a book.

I love  it when my characters take over the tale and start telling me about themselves and even protest when something I think should happen in the story is not the way they thing it should be. ­­­­­­They always come up with something better. ­­­ They reveal all to me. I think about them even when I am not writing. Solutions to difficult parts come to me at odd times, causing me to run for some paper and a pencil and to write frantically, like a mad woman, for several minutes. These parts turn out to be some of the best writings in the books.

At the end of every book, I am compelled to go on and must write the first chapter of the next book in the series while things are still fresh in my mind. Then I let it rest for a while.

I’m not crazy….I’m just a wild writer.

2 Comments

  1. Hi Dorothy,
    I love what you’ve done with your blog. I think you did a super job, looks much better than mine.

    • Thanks, Irene.It took me a while to figure things out, but now I finally think I know what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

