Writing by Candlelight

Dorothy's Blog

Grandchildren

“Those gasps of astonishment, those shrieks of pleasure, those sighs of delight, lost long ago when your children grew wise and worldly ~ are suddenly given back to you by your grandchildren. What seems to be the same small hands clutch yours, dragging you from one excitement to another ~ “Look! Oh, look! Come ON!””  ~Unknown

I had the pleasure of watching two of my grandchildren this afternoon while their mother had her hair done.  This quote is so relevant to what went on when they were here.  Jackie aged two dragged me around the house after he sat on the couch next to me holding my hand for the first half hour. Trinity is three and a half months old and kept looking at me with those big blue eyes and if I tickled her enough, she’d break out in a smile and “talk” to me with her goos and ahhhs. It was almost like having my kids little and home again.

I am so lucky to have Jackie and Trinity living right down the street from me. And soon I will have another grandbaby to hold and hug….this one too not far away either….about 7 minutes away from me.

I now have 22 beautiful grandchildren. And I really believe the quote:

“Grandchildren are precious gifts given to parents from their children.” ~ Lisa

Who knew there would be this deep love when the grandbabies came along….who knew it would be the same love that snuck up on me when my own children were born, such a strong bond, attachment, love.

I snuggled with both of them for a while and then Trinity fell asleep in my arms, so I had Jackie spread a blanket out on the living room floor and I laid her down to sleep there. Jackie and I said our prayers together, discussed heaven, and walked around the house.  We had lots of hugs and kisses in the meantime.

It was a beautiful afternoon. I thank my kids and God for my grandchildren!

1 Comment

  1. SR

    And you know with our grandkids, we are not the same people who raised our own kids:>) Those little souls can do no wrong, can they? Enjoyed reading. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

