Writing by Candlelight

Dorothy's Blog

St. Theresa and Roses

English: Thérèse de Lisieux.     We Catholics sometimes ask the saints to intercede to God for us when we pray for our needs. A favorite saint of mine is St. Theresa, the Little Flower. It is said when you invoke her assistance in these matters, she will send you roses. I take this as a sign that my prayer will be answered affirmatively. This has happened over and over in my life.

 

Just recently I prayed for a special favor. By the next day, in my mail I received a gift envelope containing a St. Theresa notepad, return address stickers with beautiful roses all over them, prayer cards and just tons of roses everywhere in that envelope. By the way, I did not send for these things. My favor was granted several days later.

 

This week I had another favor I needed from God. So I again went to St. Theresa and prayed for her intercession in another matter. This morning when I got on my computer and opened a blog that I subscribe to, the first thing that popped up was a big beautiful ROSE. There was not even the­ mention of a rose in the title of the blog. My favor was granted later this day.

 

This is the prayer that I pray:
“Oh Little Theresa of the Child Jesus,
please pick for me a rose fromEnglish: Red roses
the heavenly gardens and send it
to me as a message of love.

O Little Flower of Jesus,
Ask God today to grant the favors
I now place with confidence
in your hands…
(mention specific requests)

St. Theresa, help me to always to believe
as you did in God’s great love  for me,
so that I might imitate your
‘Little Way’ each day.  Amen.”

8 Comments

  1. SR

    Do you mind if I reblog this? I would like to share this wonderful story of yours, but I do not like to reblog without asking. If you had rather me not, please feel free to tell me no. There will be no hard feelings. Thanks for sharing this and God Bless, SR

    • Yes, I would be honored to have you reblog this post. I read your blog and I love it and am now following it.

  2. SR

    Thank you so much. I as well love your blog and am now following also. This story just needs to be shared. God Bless, SR

  3. SR

    Reblogged this on To Have Her Heart and commented:
    This is truly a must read from a wonderful Catholic blogger. It is about St. Theresa and how she gives this wonderful lady roses. God Bless, SR

  4. SR

    I just had to come back and re-read this. This touches my heart so. God Bless, SR

    • Thank you, SR, I am going to go over to your blog and read some more of your posts as soon as I get more time. They all sound very interesting.

  5. Lyn

    Thank you for posting this! I’m a new convert, and am enjoying learning about the saints and our relationships with them. Your link took me to St. Theresa of Avila, so I got a two-fer!

    Blessings to you and yours. ~Lyn

  6. I love to hear how Jesus answers our prayer even the little ones. My next post will be about how Jesus answers my grandson’s prayers. I think our Lord is so great! James

Leave a Reply

