Writing by Candlelight

Dorothy's Blog

Building a Website

I have been very busy building a new website this week….and…last week…and today. I just love playing around with it but I’m such a perfectionist, I have to make sure it is just perfect. And you know what that means. I already changed the theme three times, checked the others all out about ten times. On the new theme, I’ve changed the header three times already. Oh my, oh my, oh my!

But it’s SO much fun. I had to rebuild it because the place that hosted it before was doing a change over and I would have had to rebuild it if I decided to stay with them anyway. So I decided to really do it all over from scratch. It went from being business based to author based with the business being a part of it. I have a new host now and am using the Word Press tools to get it up there. And since I already have a blog here, it wasn’t so hard to do it.

It just takes a lot of time. Especially since I don’t remember all of the HTML language I learned when I used to have my school websites. So I have to keep going back and forth from the editing page to the published page to see if things came out like I intended them to. And HEY…the HTML language is coming back to me. The good thing is that in WordPress I don’t even have to use it unless I want to do something special….and then I can do it.

The site isn’t 100% finished yet but I do have most of it up and running. I was having a hard time trying to get my order form on there for the books and I had to do it piecemeal and that took me about 3 days of trying. But finally, I DID IT. No wonder my favorite poem is “Persistence,” by Calvin Coolidge. I’ll have to put it on here someday. I really am one persistent woman.

Woo Hoo! I’m doing the happy dance now that I’ve gotten this far with it. If you want to take a peek at it you can click on “My Website” in the upper right hand corner of this page. Let me know what you think, if you do look at it!

8 Comments

  1. SR

    This is why I have been getting different looks when I try to get into your blog:>) I was wondering thought it was another wp glitch:>) Cannot wait to see what you decide. God Bless, SR

  2. SR

    I love the header. It is so Dorothy. God Bless, SR

  3. I love your header of the picture of the BLessed Mother. I actually have that same picture of her saved on my computer.

    • SR

      Two great minds think alike:>) I printed it out on photo paper and have it sitting in my living room. I have always wanted a picture which looked like what I think she looked like. When I saw that one, I knew that was the one. I do not think she was a blonde as some pictures/statues have her. The eyes in that picture are how I also pictured them to be. Happy theme and blog figuring out. It takes awhile doesn’t it, but as you I think it is fun also. Well have to go and “weed eat.” UGH!! God Bless, SR

  4. SR

    Checking in to see how it is going. God Bless, SR

    • Hi SR thanks for checking up on me. I changed the header for the website again. This time I really like it and will probably leave it like it is.
      God Bless you too!

  5. SR

    Just stopped by to check in on you. Am still trying to email you, but have been so busy this week trying to catch up on everything, when I do sit down I am either taking care of blog or crash burning and dying. Hope all is well with you, and hope to be back on schedule by next week. Hubby is coming in tomorrow so hopefully he and I will have some time. God Bless, SR

    • Hi SR,
      I’m fine been busy too. Trying to find time to write another blog but with my outdoor work and other obligations, didn’t get to it yet.
      God Bless you, too, and have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

