Writing by Candlelight

Dorothy's Blog

The Ahhh Moment

This Genre in Middle School

This Genre in Middle School (Photo credit: Carol VanHook)

I’ve been preparing for my new book for a long time now!

I did tons of research; it’s historical fiction.

I picked out the characters and did character sketches on each of them.

I even had a book name picked out for over a year now.

I know where the characters will live, and some details I want to include in the story.

BUT…

For the life of me, I could not figure out a story line. I just kept mulling things over and over in my mind. It was so frustrating.

I almost started writing the story, trying to get the characters to take the lead and show me where to go with it.

But I didn’t.

And a couple of days ago…out of a clear blue sky…it came to me, rushing at me so fast I had to take notes so I wouldn’t forget it. In fact I now have enough material for the first two books in the series.

I’m delighted to tell you that my first two series seem to be turning into a saga with a third series to follow.

Ahhhh it is so nice to finally have found the story.

NOW all I have to do is write it.

4 Comments

  1. SR

    Cannot wait for it! Is it going to be a children’s book? The reason I am asking is because I have a daughter who has twins age 4. I want to tell her about your books. Do you write any for that age group? I am glad your ideas finally came to you. When God starts moving He always moves with a flood of ideas and wisdom. God Bless, SR

    • Hi SR,
      Yes it is a middle grade reader. It will be about the 11 year old twins of the main character, Rose, in the first series living in 1857 in central New York State and will include interesting history tucked into the story here and there. Anna and Charlie will have many adventurous, funny, and interesting family stories. Similar to the Little House on the Prairie series. I also do the illustrations and some are my grandchildren and children. It is so much fun. It you want to see more about my books, click on my website above to go there.
      Blessings to you too!

  2. Marie Krause

    I’m really getting excited to get reading your new series!!! Happy ideas are working your mind already!

    • Hi Marie, I’m excited too that I am getting ideas right and left now for the new series. Thanks for commenting on my blog.

Leave a Reply

