Writing by Candlelight

Dorothy's Blog

You Always Have to Work At Weight Loss

574546_4445085840387_379260885_n

I always thought when I got to my goal weight; I wouldn’t have to think about my eating anymore and sometime wondered why people at goal would want to be on a weight loss website. BUT…..little did I know that maintenance is almost harder than losing the weight. And that is when you need the tips and ideas, support and comfort of people that have been through it with you. It is so easy to slip back. Of course, I’m not at goal yet and I haven’t been since I reached goal at Weight Watchers a couple of decades ago.  LOL

 I am not really overweight …but want to lose 10 lbs. to be healthier. Rather than focusing on that scale that always trips me up, it is more important to develop healthy eating habits along with a consistent exercise program.  The first time I lost the weight I didn’t change my eating habits much. And I NEVER exercised. Eventually I gained most of the weight back.

Four years ago I joined SparkPeople. I still didn’t change what I ate that much, but I did track everything I put in my mouth.  And magically I lost weight. However, I still did not exercise. A team member finally convinced me to do some walking. It was so hard to start, but start I did.  Ten minutes at first, increasing it gradually.

I now walk 6,000 steps every day motivated by my Activity Tracker that reminds to do it. I am eating more veggies, fruits, and planning healthier meals.  I include new foods like avocados, extra virgin olive oil, whole wheat products, and less processed foods in my diet. The only thing I am struggling with is to make a habit of tracking my food. Yes, I somehow stopped doing that.

By the way I still didn’t lose those 10 lbs. but I feel great, have wonderful friends on my team at SparkPeople, and am either staying even or losing slowly.  Now I am confident I will eventually get down those 10 lbs.

2 Comments

  1. I go to see everyday a few blogs and information sites to
    read articles or reviews, however this weblog provides quality based posts.

  2. It is really a great and helpful piece of information. I’m
    happy that you just shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

