Writing by Candlelight

Dorothy's Blog

I’m Back & Searching My Ancestry

It’s been a long time since wrote in this blog. But I’ve decided to get it going again. Since I have a link to it on my website, I thought I should come here at least once a week or so to connect with all of my friends and fans of my books.

I now have eight books under my belt and taking a break while I work on my ancestry. I had an Ancestry DNA test taken and found out that I am 97% East European (Polish). That was not a surprise but the people I share DNA markers with enabled me to find my grandfather’s brother’s family that had moved to California when I was a little girl. It also brought up 30 more possible 3rd and 4th or higher cousins. This is fascinating as I started seaching for my relatives in 2000 but there was so little available on line that I had to go to the library and search microfilms of newspapers, etc. Finally, I became discouraged and stopped the search for a while.

Now there is so much available, especially from Ancestry (a paid site), Family Search (a free site), and the internet, it is quite easy to find a lot of information. However it can take time which is okay with me. I’d rather search my ancestors than watch some of the TV shows on these days.

I am going to put it all in a book and give it to my children so they will not have to go through what I did when they get to that point in their life when they want to know about these things.

I think it takes a certain age for most people to get to the point where they want to know about their background.  Who am I? Where did I come from? I wish I had listened to my grandmother more and asked her more questions when she was still alive.

One of my Uncles passed away in 2009 and I was able to get a bunch of questions answered from him before he left this earth. I am thankful for the information I was able to get from him.

I still have a few more mysteries to solve in the family tree, maybe even more that a few. So let me get back to that now…..

Leave a Reply

